Frustrations

Please note that all statements contained herein are my own personal opinion. There may or may not be facts to support anything I say. I’m not going to bother up looking up information that gets ignored.

Sitting her jealous and frustrated because my girlfriend (who lives in another city) has nice long bike trails to ride where she lives and where I am, we just got bike lanes which 99% of drivers ignore. My only option for safe riding – unless I want to deal with heavy traffic and two major intersections – is riding through my subdivision to the park near my house. If I had a bike hitch for my car, I could drive up to the lake and ride along that trail. Or go across the lake to ride the big trail there.

Why is it so hard for American drivers to be non-assholes??? Why is it so difficult to be courteous to others on the road who aren’t surrounded by tons of steel? We can’t be persuaded to give up our over-sized ego-boosting vehicles for smaller, more fuel efficient models, nor can we share the road with anyone. Even other drivers.

As far as I’m concerned this country as a whole is overweight. I include myself in this, so don’t think for one second that I am some stick figure who sits on her high horse complaining about the rest of the country. I am overweight, but I am doing something about it. Sometimes I fall off the wagon, but I pick myself back up time and again and keep pushing forward.

I want to be able to go for a bike ride and actually go somewhere without fearing for my life. I don’t want to be stuck walking as my only means of cardio and I don’t want to pay to join a club where people are only there to judge. And don’t tell me they’re not. I’ve seen the article on Buzzfeed where people are mocking members of a well-known fitness chain.

I really wish the car manufacturers had gone under. Clearly that’s the only way we’re going to do something other than drive to where we need to go. And heaven forbid you actually display a tiny bit of courtesy to anyone else.

