Before It All Went Downhill

I had a mostly shitty weekend – and I mean that quite literally – but before it all went South, I had a wonderful evening with two friends as I enjoyed my first Shakespeare in the Park production. It was, as you might imagine by the photo, William Shakespeare’s As You Like It. This is one of many of Shakespeare’s plays I’d never seen before. We went to see it because we knew two of the guys in it. Once there, though, I realised I’d met the gentleman who played Adam last Christmas at a friend’s party. We also saw a friend of one of my friends I was with.

Naturally I thoroughly enjoyed it and the fact that it was a rather mild evening added to the enjoyment, at least on my part. My only regret is that we did not eat what was there on offer for dinner. I couldn’t find information on exactly what was to be sold in way of food, so I told my friends we would meet beforehand at a nearby restaurant then go to the park.

We had burgers at Juicy Lucy’s which is actually a style of hamburger and in my opinion shouldn’t be the name of the restaurant. They take two thin burger patties and put cheese or onions or jalapenos or mushrooms or any combination thereof between the two patties and cook it thus. The lettuce and tomato are still in their usual place. Once we got to the park, though, I saw that there was a place selling savoury crepes which all sounded good. The dessert ones sounded especially delicious as one of them was a banana and nutella crepe. *drool*
 
The performance was amazing and I am so glad we went to see it. Of course the local theatre critic bemoaned the fact that the Seven Ages of Man speech was cut from the production. Things had to be cut from the play and that was part of the cut. If you’re unfamiliar with the play, as I was, I would say that the speech is not vital to the play. Its absense does not take away from the plot in any way. If you’re unfamiliar with the speech, the opening lines should be familiar to you:
 
All the world’s a stage,
And all the men and women merely players:
They have their exits and their entrances;
And one man in his time plays many parts,
His acts being seven ages. At first, the infant,
Mewling and puking in the nurse’s arms.
And then the whining school-boy, with his satchel
And shining morning face, creeping like snail
Unwillingly to school. And then the lover,
Sighing like furnace, with a woeful ballad
Made to his mistress’ eyebrow. Then a soldier,
Full of strange oaths and bearded like the pard,
Jealous in honour, sudden and quick in quarrel,
Seeking the bubble reputation
Even in the cannon’s mouth. And then the justice,
In fair round belly with good capon lined,
With eyes severe and beard of formal cut,
Full of wise saws and modern instances;
And so he plays his part. The sixth age shifts
Into the lean and slipper’d pantaloon,
With spectacles on nose and pouch on side,
His youthful hose, well saved, a world too wide
For his shrunk shank; and his big manly voice,
Turning again toward childish treble, pipes
And whistles in his sound. Last scene of all,
That ends this strange eventful history,
Is second childishness and mere oblivion,
Sans teeth, sans eyes, sans taste, sans everything.
 
After that jolly evening, my weekend went downhill. I shall spare you the details. Suffice it to say it had a lot to do with the intestines. 🙂
 
