Do I Still Have What It Takes?

Monday evening as I was driving home from work, my radio was tuned to NPR as it usually is. It’s never long after I start the drive home that the Monday segment ‘All Tech Considered’ comes on. This week, the feature story was about a company called Coursera. I’ll let you follow the links to find out just what Coursera is about, but it piqued my interest enough for me to seek out the site and look at their course offerings. I have now signed up for A History of the World Since 1300 (offered by Princeton), Fantasy and Science Fiction: The Human Mind, Our Modern World (offered by UMich) and Internet History, Technology and Security (offered by UMich). There is no cost and naturally I will get no college credit, but it will give me the one thing I value most: knowledge. It also will allow me to judge whether or not I could handle going back to college, were I to do so. I am excited about this, mostly because it’s not limited to the students at the respective universties; the courses are open to anyone.

2 thoughts on “Do I Still Have What It Takes?

Comments are closed.