101 Things About Me, Part 55

Wow. I’m on a roll. LOL

This particular bit of trivia about me isn’t something that’s been around for a while. It’s really a new interest of mine that my lovely friend Katie introduced to me maybe a year or so ago. I like Steampunk. If you’ve never heard the word, think of the the updated version of Wild, Wild West that Will Smith starred in a few years back.

The Steampunk Home defines quite well the appeal for me and for others with this mixture of Victorian era life with futuristic technology:

I believe that Steampunk is more than just brass and watchparts. It’s finding a way to combine the past and the future in an aesthetic pleasing yet still punkish way. It’s living a life that looks old-fashioned, yet speaks to the future. It’s taking the detritus of our modern technological society and remaking it into useful things.

Earlier this year Katie and her husband were able to attend a Steampunk convention in her hometown in Arizona. Maybe someday I’ll live closer to a city where conventions of this type happen; there are never any cool conventions in New Orleans. 😦

