Analyzing Who I Am: Writer

I am a writer. Most of the time I don’t think I’m any good at it, but I plug along day after day, week after week, year upon year, writing. I’ve tried quitting countless times, but the little cauldron of story ideas keeps bubbling away even after I say, “I quit!”

Over the years I have met and envied those who tell stories of how they believed the story should go one way and the characters sort of took over and told the story themselves. I can’t tell you how much I would love to experience that just once.

I recently joined Writing Forums and so far seem to fit in. I’ve joined and left two other writing forums over the last few years. One I can’t remember why I left; the other I left because I didn’t feel like I fit in. The last question I asked on there the other day just got railroaded and the thread shot off in a different direction.

A moment ago I was reading a thread on WF wherein someone asked whether others use character bio sheets/templates and one of the responses was:

I always thought that if your characters are convincing and real enough, they will write your story for you.

Me too!! But then the response back was:

This only works for writers who write from the heart.

Well, I write from the heart. Don’t I?

No, I don’t. I write from my head. Not because that’s where all the ideas flow from, but because I always have to have every detail perfect. And because writing comes and goes for me. I don’t do it every day. I can and do think of any number of other things to do besides writing.

I don’t write for the sake of putting words on paper – or typing them on a screen. My thought is always if someone would buy my work. Never have I written for the pure joy it brings me.

Can I change? Can I become a heart-writer instead of a head-writer? I don’t know. I hope I can. I’ve wished all of my life to see my name on the cover of a book sitting on a shelf in a bookshop, but I’m the one preventing that from happening.

It’s hard to accept when you realise you’ve been doing things wrong the whole time.

One thought on “Analyzing Who I Am: Writer

  1. Sometimes you just have to try something different. Give it a shot and see what happens. I find listening to music seems to make scenes or characters pop in my head.

Comments are closed.