Wisdom and Happiness

I was in the bathroom just now, standing in front of a mirror that covers the whole wall.
Kinda hard to not look at yourself in those instances.
So I took a real look at myself.
I’m in my late 30s and I’ve got the first signs of aging.
I’ve got grey hair streaking through my brown locks.
Not going to cover them, because they’re a sign of wisdom.
They’re a sign to the world that I’ve been here long enough to make mistakes and (hopefully) learn from them.
I’ve also got lines on my face.
Not horrible lines, but lines in just the right places.
“Crows feet” I think they’re called.
I would never ever want to get rid of those lines because the only way they got there is because I’ve smiled.
They are a sign to myself that no matter how shitty life can feel sometimes, I’ve had enough reasons to feel happy that those smiles have left visible traces.
I guess the women who get rid of those lines don’t want the world to know that they’ve ever been happy.

3 thoughts on “Wisdom and Happiness

  1. very wise. though I must say.. I cover my gray, but I am not so sure it is because of the gray.. as I just don’t like the dark dark brown of my hair. For some reason I feel it kills the light I feel. but lines.. oh hell yeah they can stay πŸ™‚

  2. Profound…take more medication…lol πŸ™‚
    Mine aren’t grey..have noticed they actually have no colour.
    As for lines…I never look for them, so have no idea if there are any there.
    And happiness, however fleeting, is worth a few lines.

  3. That last line especially was beautiful! I remember when I was little and we went to visit my great grandmother. Now, I have never been known for being subtle..and I asked her “why does your face have so many lines”? She looked at me kindly and said “because those are the lines to my life’s story”. And then she proceeded to tell me stories of her youth and growing up in the early 1900’s. I will never forget those stories…or her wisdom.

    Thanks for sharing your deepest thoughts here..and I agree with what was said about happiness being worth the lines. Sadness is as well…because all of it makes up who we are.

Comments are closed.