Nice Try Bing!

Okay, I was glancing over the latest and “greatest” stories on MSN.com and one of the stories scrolling through the five-frame story board at the top was one about funny placenames. I love this kind of thing because I encountered both funny town names and ones that were difficult to pronounce (thanks in large part to my Native Ancestors) when I worked at a call centre for 2 years. Bing’s travel section listed the usual suspects: Truth or Consequences, NM; Nothing, AZ; Mars, PA; Last Chance, CO along with a few others.

But they totally dropped the ball on the sexually suggestive, giggle inducing places like Cumming, GA and Intercourse, PA.

They also neglected to acknowledge that Hell is a lot closer to the US than Norway. They play up on the name moreso than the Norwegians because their name wasn’t shortened from something else. It’s always been Hell in Michigan. šŸ˜‰ There is a $6.66 and Under store as well as a “diploma” from Damnation University (where else can you say you attended Damn U.?). Hell is definitely the place to visit at Halloween. šŸ˜€

I do have to take my hat off to Bing Travel, though, for including the town with the longest name in the world. Llanfair, Wales’ full name is Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch which is translated from Welsh as: St Mary’s Church in the Hollow of the White Hazel Near to the Rapid Whirlpool of Llantysilio of the Red Cave. Whew.

Of course my first trip to the UK found me catching a train from the station at Broad Bottom. Though I have to say the Brits prefer the humour in their street names moreso than towns. I took a photograph of the sign for Three Cocks Lane during my most recent trip, but there’s also Titty Ho and Penistone.

The prize for best town name of them all goes to Fucking, Austria. Of course it’s pronounced ‘fooking’…

4 thoughts on “Nice Try Bing!

  1. Well, I can’t say that we have hysterically funny place names here, but we do have Two Egg, Frog City (now pretty much a ghost town), Greenacres (like the old t.v. show) and Christmas, FL.
    Up on Long Island we had Hicksville. I never saw the humor in that town’s name till I moved away and saw other people’s reactions to the name. LOL! It would be more fitting in places down here than up in NY, let me tell you! šŸ™‚

  2. I will have you know that Intercourse, PA leads to Hell, PA..
    and yes I have been to both as well as mars. šŸ™‚ Hell is a very tiny town though..

  3. Broadbottom is all one word!…:D
    You didn’t encounter many of our strange surnames. Such as Higginbottom, Sidebottom, and Winterbottom. Also my maternal great gran was called Broadbent.
    The village town name I think is most promising is Hope….cos you can always live in hope:D

Comments are closed.