Goodbye 2010

Well, the last of the Starting-2010-With-a-Bang has ended. We had a huge start to the year here where I live because of the Superbowl. Then, we had a huge celebration because we won. That was all closely followed by Mardi Gras and then, what I was looking forward to most, the 2010 Vancouver Winter Olympics. Now the rest of the year is going to be a huge let-down, I know.

I cannot remember an Olympics so emotionally charged outside of any of the sporting events themselves. I mean sure there have been upsets where one team who wasn’t supposed to do well does phenomenally so, but this year was different. The opening day tragedy of the death of the Georgian luger followed a week later by the personal loss by the Canadian figure skater. My heart goes out to the family of both athletes.

Within the competitions themselves, I think it was wrong to disqualify Apolo Ohno for bumping another skater in the 500-m race. The nature of speedskating itself means that the skaters are going to touch. It cannot be avoided. Putting out your hand to avoid someone coming over on top of you and potentially knocking you down, shouldn’t be held against a skater.

As previously stated on another post, I’m also glad that Evan Lysacek won the gold medal over Evgeni Plushenko. It was clear to me from the start that Plushenko thought he deserved the gold no matter what. I didn’t see the whole competition, but I found out that Evan barely won. The difference was a very slim margin so to my mind, that means that the judges had a difficult time with judging who should win the gold. If Evan had won by a wider margin in the scores I would have agreed that something was amiss. Plushenko just needs to suck it up, quit acting like a child and move on.

I look forward now to the 2012 Olympics in London. I thoroughly enjoy both the summer and winter olympics and look forward to each with great anticipation.

