Beside Myself

I am just so surprised by what has happened today I felt compelled to document it here on my blog.

Briefly, for those of you who aren’t aware of my work situation, I work for a small architect firm with two bosses. Not long after I began working here, I felt compelled to write about things that happen here. After having work complaints online come back to bite me in the ass, I quickly learned that it’s best to use nicknames for those you wish to talk trash about. *laughs* So my bosses became Thing 1 and Thing 2 or T1 and T2 for short. T1 is high strung, anal and drives me nuts most often. T2 is loud, obnoxious and has a foul mouth. T2 will chat with anyone in this office at length about nearly anything, but he rarely holds a conversation with me.

This week T2 has been out of town so all of his work – much of it was due last week before he left – has fallen to me with the support of T1 and Big Daddy (a co-worker). Today I have managed to make T1 chuckle and receive a compliment from him.

This is the quick exchange that made him chuckle:

Me (walking into his office carrying a mega specifications book): Do you want me to return this to the jungle?
Him: What?
He sees what I’m holding and chuckles.
Me: Do you want me to put this back in T2’s office?
Him: No, just put it in my basket for now.

Then just moments ago, I received my compliment when I told him that I caught something that T2 had missed in the specification book I put together yesterday and today. It was slightly wrong, but he said it was a good try and it was better to have something wrong than something missing.

One thought on “Beside Myself

  1. Not often you feel so positive about your work….Bet that made you feel good for the rest of the day

Comments are closed.