Grandmother’s Visit

My grandmother visited last night. In spirit anyway. Or, rather, in the guise of my aunt who brought over enough spaghetti to feed an army. She cooked it the way my grandmother used to, which is really how I prefer eating it. My grandmother would make up the pot of spaghetti and add just enough sauce to the pot to flavour it and then people could add more or not as they chose. I prefer eating it just like that with the meatballs. As I sat down to eat, I remembered as a child sitting on her couch near the television with a plate full of spaghetti. I don’t know why but I always make a pig of myself when it comes to spaghetti and meatballs. I did then and I do now.

The reason why my aunt cooked dinner for us is because we’ve been reduced to mostly fast food fare for the last week and a half due to renovations to the kitchen. It’s really become a pain in the ass, if you want to know the truth. I thought I enjoyed fast food, but I’m heartily sick of it now. I’m hoping we might go to somewhere decent tomorrow night. Maybe Applebees. Or Acme Oyster Bar. Or… heaven forbid… Superior Grill. That last option is a Mexican food restaurant. Tonight, though, I’m pretty sure it will be spaghetti and meatballs again, because we have a ton of leftovers.

One thought on “Grandmother’s Visit

  1. mmmm, i love thinking of more innocent times with food – where you can just studd your face, make a mess and enjoy it

    there is a fab book that is about memories of childhood evoked by food – tis called ‘Toast’ by Nigel Slater

Comments are closed.