The Madness Within

Whenever I tell people what I do for a living, I always add that it’s a mental drain. Not physical. Not emotional. Just mental. I feel that I am less intelligent now than when I started here in 2006. And I feel that way because I don’t do anything that is really intellectually stimulating. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind being in a secretarial job, but this is different from my previous experiences in this role. Basically, it comes down to a lack of trust. For a long time I thought it was a lack of trust in me, which made me wonder why I was still employed with them. Then I found out that it’s not me, or rather not just me.


Two men run this architect firm – who I have dubbed Thing 1 and Thing 2 on this blog and in my general conversations with friends. They have developed a general sense of mistrust of pretty much everyone they work with; even those outside the immediate office. None of the engineers we work with can ever do things right in their eyes. Even those they’ve been working with for years. I’m not quite sure what happened to make Thing 1 and Thing 2 so mistrustful, but it happened before I started.

Thing 2 is actually the worse of the two. He’s a pack rat. He’s obsessed with tape. He thinks he knows far more about computers than he does. And he has a one track mind. He cannot multi-task at all. I’ve given up on doing something he’s asked and walking into his office to talk to him about it. I just either keep it on my desk and wait til he asks about it again or put it in his basket and when he notices it again, he’ll ask and I’ll be able to talk to him. Too many times I’ve walked into his office, started to tell him something only to be cut off with, “I can’t talk right now.”

Monday he started the week off wanting me to be a mind-reader. Eh? They didn’t teach me that in school and while I may follow a pagan path and use tarot cards and pendulums, I have not found a way to read someone’s mind. Not that I would want to read his mind, thank you very much. I might be traumatised beyond all repair.

Before you ask… yes I’ve looked into other jobs elsewhere. What I’d really like to get into seems to be on hold right now because I haven’t found training in my area. So in the meantime, I slowly go mad…

3 thoughts on “The Madness Within

  1. Oh dear. Sorry. They sound aptly named. People who think they know more about computers than they do are nothing but trouble!

  2. It’s always difficult when you find it difficult to work with your boss. I am going through this at the moment for the first time ever in my working life and it feels very draining for sure.

Comments are closed.