Nothing to Say? Not So!

Well here I am thinking I’ve got nothing to say… hence the period of quietness, but then as I am signing on to come here to say that very thing, I am reminded that I do in fact have something to blog about.

This morning I was listening to NPR this morning, as usual, when I heard a story about the move on the part of the new administration to close the military prison at Guantanimo. Of course most people don’t think it’s a viable thing to do because there’s really nowhere for the prisoners to go. Yet a day or so ago I heard that Ireland and Portugal and a few other countries are willing to take some of them. But I think they’re willing to take the ones who, while not having commited an actual crime or other aggression against the United States, are potential threats as determined by the CIA.

So. Everyone else, while awaiting trial and after for potential incarceration to fullfill their sentences, has nowhere to go. No state really wants them hanging out in any of their maximum security prisons. Who can really blame them? But I heard the absolute best idea yet from Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi of California. She is truly a brilliant woman. Her idea is to re-open Alcatraz.

Granted, the City of San Francisco would lose out on a major tourist attraction and there would be no further paranormal investigations *sigh*, but I think it’s those very ghosts who can help keep them prisoners in line. LOL While Alcatraz was the ultimate prison in its heyday, I am not sure how well it would go over to take Alcatraz back from the US National Park Service. Still, if that becomes an accepted idea, perhaps we’ll find out.

