TSO

I’ve been meaning to post about this for a few days now, but time has always escaped me.

Thursday night, 18 December, we went to see the Trans-Siberian Orchestra in concert here. I discovered them probably 10 years ago or more and bought one of their CDs to listen to each Xmas.

So you can imagine my surprise when I learnt last month that they would be here in concert. We managed to scrounge up some tickets which were fairly high up, but as I reasoned, with TSO it’s all about the music and it’s not like we had super high seats nearly to the roof of the Superdome. In that building anything on the floor looks like a pile of ants.

Anyway, the concert began probably around 7.45 and was a spectacular show of flashing lights, lasers and pyrotechnics. They performed the music from the CD I own and after a short break to introduce everyone, they performed a wide variety of classical music to show off their considerable talents.

There was more pyrotechnics used during the second half than the first and a lot of it so bright and radiant we could feel the heat all the way up where we were. At least I could.

The only drawback was having to listen to familial drama on the row behind us until the concert began. Apparently the mother was attempting to discipline her teenaged daughter for some unmentioned issue, by taking away her mobile phone. At the same time, she was taunting the girl by either actually or pretending to send text messages to all of the girl’s friends. I wanted to stand up and slap the shit out of the woman. I’m sorry but if you’re going to discipline your child, do it and leave the subject alone. Don’t act like a kid yourself and antagonise her.

