No More Late Nights Pls

Well… Thursday afternoon whilst talking to India about our plans for going to see The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor, I mentioned that there was a showing at 12:01 am, technically the first showing for the opening day of August 1. It was a passing comment, but for some idiotic reason, it stuck in my head. This little voice kept saying… ohhh let’s go then!!! I finally told India about this idea and she was all for it. So we made plans. I went home and tried to nap, which is never a successful venture with the loudmouthed people in my family. I think I managed 45 minutes, then I was up for the rest of the evening. I left the house about 10 after 11 and drove into the city to pick up India. She lives in a small apartment complex where the entrance is gated. When I pulled up in front of the complex, she was standing on the outside of the gate talking to two neighbours inside. When she got in the car I told her that the two inside looked like they were two convicts jealous of someone else’s leave time. She laughed.

So we get to the theatre and there are loads of cars. More than I expected, but then I reasoned that these were probably there from the 10 PM show which is the latest. We went in and got our tickets and moseyed on into the theatre.

The movie itself didn’t live up to its anticipated hype. At least not for me. I’ve seen mixed opinions all over the internet. Don’t get me wrong, I think Maria Bello is a fantastic actress, but as a brunette she looks OLD. And she just didn’t fill Rachel Weiss’ shoes as well as I had hoped. The idea for the movie was good, but the script fell short for me. There was a little too much over-the-top cheesiness.

By 2:45 am I crawled into bed. I woke again at 9:45. My body is certainly not used to these late nights. Not like when I was in college…

