Siding with Criminals

I don’t know if this will be the only time in my life I ever agree with what so-called criminals are doing, but it is my first.

MIAMI – For less than $15, you can buy a cell phone loaded with minutes. You can buy more as you go whenever those minutes run out. Best of all, you aren’t locked into a long-term contract.
But in South Florida, New York, California, Georgia, Texas and elsewhere, traffickers have figured out they can make big profits by purchasing thousands of these low-cost phones and tweaking the software so that calls can be made on any cell network. The altered phones are then sold all over the world — costing the phone companies tens of millions of dollars. Cont’d

I have had cell phones on two separate occasions since 2006 and got rid of both because these cell phone companies charge too much. Both of them were the pre-paid variety. Still, it cost too much to have a cell phone. In my most recent situation, I’d only gotten the damn thing because of one incident at work where I went to Office Depot to buy something and a co-worker wanted to ask me to pick up something else while I was there only I didn’t have a phone for him to call. After only 2 or 3 months, I realised I had something better I could spend $50 a month on because I wasn’t getting all that much with the phone. Last week I read an article about text messages increasing in price. These companies jack up the price continuously and expect sympathy when this trafficking happens? Sorry, no can do.

I now have two phones that are useless because I can’t sell them to anyone for a few bucks here or there and let them use either on any provider. Talk about a complete waste.

