Fun with Friends

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve done anything with my two friends from work – JJ and India – but we went out Saturday evening and as always, I laughed til my cheeks hurt.

First, we had to drive across the river to go to a Circuit City over there to pick up a laptop which JJ purchased for a friend in Argentina and which he will deliver when he goes there for a visit in about a week and a half. Apparently buying a laptop here in the US will save his friend around $500. Yowza!

Next door to CC was Bed, Bath and Beyond, so I asked if they (mainly JJ) would mind going over to browse a bit. They agreed and we walked over. My main reason for wanting to go was that I had remembered something I wanted to find there, which I’d forgotten on previous visits. They sell a lot of the as-seen-on-tv products and I wanted to know if they had the Handy Switch. They did, of course, so I bought one of those as well as a very fattening Yankee Candle. I swear I gained 10 pounds just sniffing the Butter Cream. MMMMMmmmm

So after our purchasing was done – JJ bought two insulated cups to bring with him on his trip – we drove back over the bridge to the City. We were going to see a movie at the cinema in the shopping centre where I’ve worked on previous occasions, so I parked in the attached garage. We had plenty of time still, so I asked if they would mind a quick trip to Lush. Again, they acquiesced, mostly I think because JJ wanted to look at their stuff and take some to his mum. I grabbed two of my favourite bath bombs – AvoBath – and India bought two Godivas with a tin to carry one in.

Back at the cinema, we purchased our tickets for Mongol. It’s a sub-titled movie about the early life of Genghis Khan, the first ruler of the Mongolian Empire. It was an excellent movie to see as I knew virtually nothing about Genghis Khan. My only problem was that we were the first in the theatre and India wanted to sit on the last row. The theatre is the old-style seating where you can’t see the bottom of the screen if someone’s in front of you. Well, the theatre quickly filled up and I had to crane my neck often to read what was being said. Still, I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, especially the breathtaking landscape of the Mongolian Steppe region.

After the movie ended, we walked a few blocks down to the Cafe du Monde for coffee (at least for JJ and India) and beignets. I couldn’t remember the last time I’d been to the Cafe; at least the original location. In the last 10 years or so they’ve opened smaller versions around the metropolitan area and one is quite near where I live and I’ve been there at least twice since Katrina. We sat for a while analyzing the film and laughing about all sorts of things. It was great fun.

We’ve also made tentative plans for a road trip sometime in the fall. I want to go to Vicksburg National Battlefield and I think it will be a good opportunity for them to experience some of the history of the US since neither of them are from here. We’re waiting til the fall so it will be a bit cooler and more comfortable spending several hours walking around the battlefield.

Little do they know of my plans to find a haunted history tour to drag them on as well. *big evil grin*

