Wine Tasting 101

This post is a day later than I’d planned because I wasn’t feeling well yesterday.

Thursday night I went to W.I.N.O. again for a class about the basics of tasting wine. I really shouldn’t have gone because I’m having sinus problems and couldn’t breathe out of one side of my nose. We tasted 8 wines and were told to smell them before tasting. When your nose is plugged up, it’s kinda hard to smell anything. It was still nice because we tasted wines from all over the world. From Italy, France, Australia, New Zealand and California.

These are the wines we tasted:

De La Dimerie-Muscadet, Loire Valley, France, 2004
Huia, Marlborough, New Zealand, Sauvignon Blanc, 2006
Marcato, La Giareta, Italy, Pinot Grigio, 2005
Newton, Red Label, Napa/Sonoma, Chardonnay, 2005
Jean Garaudet, Hautes- Côtes de Beaune, Pinot Noir, 2005
Bird in Hand, Mt. Lofty Ranges, Shiraz, 2005
Banfi, Rosso di Montalcino, Italy, Sangiovese, 2004
Laparita, Napa Valley, California, Cabernet Sauvignon, 1999

I still don’t like whites beyond a sweet Reisling, but I did find that I liked the Shiraz and the Sangiovese. The first Shiraz I had, I didn’t care for, while my friend Sara loves Shiraz. This one I liked.

I think I’m going to take this class again.

post signature

